The Class Insecta contains a number of insect Orders, these Orders are categorised in to two subclasses called Apterygota and Pterygota.

The Apterygota are wingless insects and the subclass contains two Orders:

Other names for (or types of) Apterygota include:

Related terms

Related groups of terms

Related pages on this web site

See other words beginning with A

Browse terms by A-Z

Back to Glossary

If you have found this glossary useful please consider supporting the Amateur Entomologists' Society by becoming a member or making a donation.