The gut is the main digestive organ of insects. The gut runs through both the thorax and the abdomen and is divided into three regions:

  1. Fore-gut or stomodaeum
  2. Mid-gut or mesenteron
  3. Hind-gut or proctodaeum

The fore-gut is where the first breakdown of large pieces of food occurs. The food is then passed to the mid-gut where the main process of breakdown occurs. The remaining food is then passed to the hind-gut and combined with other waste material before being expelled from the insect's body.

Other names for (or types of) Gut include:

Related terms

Related groups of terms

Related pages on this web site

See other words beginning with G

Browse terms by A-Z

Back to Glossary

If you have found this glossary useful please consider supporting the Amateur Entomologists' Society by becoming a member or making a donation.