The Kingdom is the topmost of the main divisions/ranks used in biological classification of organisms. Many scientists recognise five kingdoms in which all life on earth is divided:

  1. Animalia
  2. Plantae
  3. Fungi
  4. Protista
  5. Prokaryota/Monera

However, increasingly, the view is to split the Prokaryota into Archaea and Bacteria making six kingdoms.

Other names for (or types of) Kingdom include:

Related terms

Related groups of terms

Related pages on this web site

See other words beginning with K

Browse terms by A-Z

Back to Glossary

If you have found this glossary useful please consider supporting the Amateur Entomologists' Society by becoming a member or making a donation.