Order is one of the seven taxonomic ranks used to classify living organisms. Order is positioned after Class and before Family.

  1. Kingdom
  2. Phylum
  3. Class
  4. Order
  5. Family
  6. Genus
  7. Species

There are 29 insect Orders although, like much of biological classification, this is still being discussed and changed by scientists.

Related terms

Related groups of terms

Related pages on this web site

See other words beginning with O

Browse terms by A-Z

Back to Glossary

If you have found this glossary useful please consider supporting the Amateur Entomologists' Society by becoming a member or making a donation.