Tagma is the term used to describe each of the three main divisions/segments of an insect's body. Each section is known as a tagma and collectively they are called tagmata. The three insect tagma are:

  1. Head
  2. Thorax
  3. Abdomen
An illustration of the general structure of an insect.

Related terms

Related groups of terms

Related pages on this web site

See other words beginning with T

Browse terms by A-Z

Back to Glossary

If you have found this glossary useful please consider supporting the Amateur Entomologists' Society by becoming a member or making a donation.